House System

The ‘house system’ was introduced into the College in 1916 on the suggestion of a master, Edward Pilgrim. Students were grouped at first into two houses - ‘A’ and ‘B.’ A third house, ‘C,’ was added in 1921; ‘D’ in 1932; ‘E’ and ‘F’ in 1945 and ‘G,’ ‘L,’ ‘H’ and ‘K’ in 1954. At that time, there were ten houses. The practice of naming the houses after famous persons was started in 1921; each was eventually given a distinctive colour. The ten houses therefore possess their own names, letters and colours.

The primary purpose of the house system is to encourage team spirit and foster group solidarity. It is also the basis of competition as sports, debates and other activities are usually organised along inter-house lines.

School ties, except for prefects and winners of ‘college colours,’ display house colours which were introduced in 1933. Each house had a ‘head of house’ (now house captain) and an additional number of ‘house prefects’ who were not necessarily school prefects. A staff member is usually appointed ‘house master.’ Houses assemble every week, bringing together students of all ages and at all levels and are important platforms for participation in various extra-curricular activities.

New students are assigned with the aim of balancing the membership of houses in order to foster fair competition. It became a convention that, once a student had been assigned to a house, younger siblings would join the same house when they arrived at the school. This convention has been extended to the children and close relatives of former students.

Queen's Collge book by H.E. David Granger




William Exley Percival is the eponym of Percival House. He was the youngest person to be appointed as principal of Queen's College. He served in that capacity from 1877 to 1893 and was 29 years old when he received the appointment. The Englishman and botanist was the first principal after Queen's College became a government institution. Percival house meets in the 5D classroom on the West wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Simran Bissu (2019-2020)



Sir Walter Raleigh was an English Explorer, navigator, author, poet and courtier to Queen Elizabeth I who was born in the 1550s and executed in 1585 on charges of treason. His familiarity with the Queen fueled hate in her successor - James I of England and VI of Scotland who was responsible for sentencing him to death. His relation to Guyana (then called Guiana) was his expeditions to Guiana in search of the golden city of El Dorado. He authored the book the 'Discoverie of Guiana' (1596) that outlined the exaggerated findings of his expeditions which included some gold mines. The meeting place of Raleigh house is the 2B classroom on the West wing.

Last Inter-House Title



Master Jorrel De Santos (2019-2020)



Bishop William Percy Austin, MA, LLB, DD (November 7, 1807 - November 9, 1892) was the founder of the Church-owned Queen's College Grammar School and also served as the first Principal. The Oxford graduate was consecrated Bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Guiana in 1842 and was the first Primate of Guiana. Members of Austin House meet in the 4D classroom on the East Wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Master Nathan Chinapen (2019-2020)



Durban House was named after Lieutenant General Benjamin D'Urban, GCE, RCH, RCTH (1777 - 1849) who served as the first Governor of the United Colony of British Guiana that he helped unify (He superintended the merge of the former colonies - Berbice and Demerara-Essequibo). He served in the military from 1820 until 1846 when he was transferred to Canada where he eventually died three years later. The 3C classroom in the East wing is the meeting place of Durban House.

Last Inter-House Title


Master Joshua Kalekyezi (2019-2020)



Edward Oliver Pilgrim, BPhys(Hons), MBE (1886-1970) was responsible for the introduction of the house system. The Barbadian was one of the longest serving master of Queen's College and his tenure lasted some 54 years (1905-1959). Some other noteworthy positions he held were : Honorary Representative in British Guiana for the Royal School of Music, Member of the Board of Examiners, Land Surveyors and of the National Library Committee. Pilgrim House meetings occur in the 3A classroom in the East wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Reseda Hack (2019-2020)



Frederick Thomas Weston, BEd (Hons) (1908-1943) was an all-rounded assistant master who excelled at cricket, rugby, scouting and swimming. He introduced swimming and shotput and revived boxing. He was recruited for service in the Royal Air Force during the Second World War but met a tragic demise in an aircraft accident while on duty. Weston House meets in the 3B classroom in the East wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Grace Corbin (2019-2020)



The first alumnus to be appointed as principal of Queen's College was Edwin Richard Denys Moulder, BA, MA (1875-1942) who was appointed to that position in 1920. He was born in Friendship Village, East Coast Demerara, British Guiana and was awarded the Guiana /scholarship that afforded him to study at Oxford University. He served as an Examiner in the Education Department and even as a Censor in World War I. Edwin Moulder also represented British Guiana and the West Indies in cricket during his younger days. Moulder House meets in the 2C classroom in the West wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Emily DeAgrella (2019-2020)



Sir Charles Campbell Woolley, KCMG, OBE, MC (1893-1981) served as Governor of British Guiana from 12th April, 1947 to 14th April, 1953. He was a pioneer of social and economic reform as evidenced by his direction that the present Thomas Lands school building be built. He was awarded the Military Cross for outstanding service during World War I. Woolley House meets in the 4C classroom in the East wing.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Reanna Mc Curchin (2019-2020)



Admiral Sir John Henry Daces Cunningham (1885-1962) was an alumnus of Queen's College. He graduated from the HMS Britannia naval cadet in 1901 and went on to serve as 4th Sea Lord. He was knighted in 1941 and retired from his post of C-in-C of the merged Mediterranean commands in September of 1948. The 2D classroom in the West wing is the official meeting place of Cunningham House.

Last Inter-House Title



Miss Beyoncé Skekel (2018-2020)



The longest serving principal of the College is Captain Howard Nobbs, OBE, MSc, FRIC who was born on October 29, 1891. His appointment as principal began in 1931 and he retired in 1951. One of his notable achievements was his effecting of the move from the Brickdam building to the Thomas Lands building. His contributions to Queen's College and British Guianese education were rewarded with the 'Order of the British Empire' in 1951.The 3D classroom in the East wing is the official meeting place of Nobbs House.

Last Inter-House Title


Miss Eliana Sampson (2019-2020)

In Pictures

Inter-House Activities

To prevent excess data charges, media files have been disabled on mobile devices.